Cyclists in a spin in Peel district Cycling Club events

Sound Telegraph
The largest field of the day in the D grade women.
Camera IconThe largest field of the day in the D grade women. Credit: Nick Cowie

The Peel District Cycling Club hit the road again last weekend, with the club running their first Peel Ladies Tour in conjunction with the Peel Junior Tour at the Kwinana Motorplex.

In the under 13s prologue the fastest male was Peel Districts’ Ashton Sime, a couple of seconds ahead of the fastest under 13 woman, Isabella Commons from the South West Cycling Club in Bunbury.

The road race saw Sime, Commons and three others form a break on the first lap. On the final lap Sime and Commons attacked the break and rode away, with the former sprinting to the line to claim bragging rights.

In the sprints both Sime and Commons completed three wins from three events. Sime took the under 13 male title, while Jordan Williams secured second overall, with a seconds in the prologue, sprint and third in the road race, Rusty Wisewould was third overall.

Get in front of tomorrow's news for FREE

Journalism for the curious Australian across politics, business, culture and opinion.


Commons took the under 13 female title, with Vanessa Baker second.

The under 15 men’s prologue saw South West’s Joshua Commons and Peel Districts Matthew Connan separated by less than a second.

The road race saw Commons and Connan in a break of four at the end of the first lap, the next lap saw the pair off the front and that is where they stayed for the next eight laps to the finish, where Commons outsprinted Connan to take victory.

In the 500m sprint, Commons took the win and secured overall victory.

Connan was second and second overall while Joshua Howe, was third in every event and third overall.

The under 15 women’s prologue was won by Albany’s Emily Wiggin’s with Kyla Gilbertson second and Jessica Waldron third.

In the road race, the trio worked with an under 15 men’s chase group, to establish a good lead over their competitors.

With two laps to go, they stopped working with the men and their race became very tactical.

In the sprint finish it was Wiggins first, Gilbertson second and Waldron third.

These results were then replicated in the sprint race and overall, with Wiggins first, Gilbertson second and Waldron third.

The under-17 men’s prologue saw Daniel Lee take the win by little over a second from Jordan Dawson.

In the road race Lee was dropped early while Dawson stayed with the leading bunch of five, until he attacked late on the final lap to take victory from Riley Hislop and James Derrick.

In the sprint race it was Dawson first and Derrick second. Dawson took the overall honours, with Derrick second and Lee third.

The under 17’s women’s race was going to be a tactical one with Laura Hodges, Emma Lendrum and Danica Wiggins representing the Wormall Civil Alexium team, against Bike Bookings team’s Dharlia Haines.

In the opening prologue it was Hodges first, Haines second and Wiggins third.

In the road race Hodges attacked early and got a break, forcing Haines to chase with Hodge’s team-mates sitting on her wheel.

Haines decided not to risk dragging riders across to the front, only for them to attack her.

She then spent the race trying to get away from Lendrum and Wiggins.

Haines succeeded late in the race, but could not catch Hodges who finished first and had to settle for second with Lendrum third.

In the sprint race Lendrum took the win while Haines was second and Hodges third. In the overall standings Hodges was first, Haines second and Lendrum third.

The best result of the day as far as Peel District Cycling Club was concerned was the number of women racing in D grade.

With nearly 20 riders, it was the biggest field of women in a single grade in memory.

In the prologue it was Shannon Savage first, Ruth Moyses second and Natasha Pertwee third.

The road race over ten laps saw the field whittled down to a dozen riders.

In the bunch sprint it was Henriette Peschke first, Anne Boyle second and Pertwee third.

The sprint race was another close battle with Boyle taking the honours from Peschke.

Peschke's fifth place finish in the prologue, secured her overall victory, just ahead of Boyle with Savage third.

C grade saw Emma Tattum win the prologue, with Sandra Cheema second and Catherine Zainudin third.

The road race was neutralised after a competitor was injured in a crash.

The sprint race saw Rebecca Blake win, with Zainudin and Zoe Stolton third.

Tattum was the overall winner, with Blake second and Zainudin third.

A number of riders brought their time trial bikes for the prologue.

Louise McKay, who has only been racing for a little over a year and only started racing time trials this year, used her time trial bike to great effect take the win,

Shannon Miragilia rode her time trial bike to second.

The road race broke quickly apart, with four riders being pursued by four others.

Two laps later the gap was growing with three riders chasing.

The winner was always going to come from the front four.

The four stayed together until the final lap, when a late attack by McKay saw her take victory, with Kirsta Matthews second.

While all the other riders had time to recover between their races, both Women’s A and B grade had less than 10 minutes after their road race to back up for the sprint.

Megan Gammie bravely tried to lead from the start, only to be chased down by McKay in the final metres,

Gammie held on for second from a fast finishing Matthews.

McKay won overall, with Matthews second and Miragilia third.

While Wormall Civil Alexium team dominated the women’s under 17 races, they were outnumbered in Women’s A grade race by the Veris Racing team four to two.

The prologue was won by Veris’s time trial specialist Stefanie Van Amerongen with her team mate Sarah Duffield second.

The team tactics came into effect with Veris’s Erin Nolan and Van Amerongen getting an early break and Van Amerongen using her time trialing skills to develop a good lead.

The bunch quickly broke up, behind them, leaving Wormall Civil Alexium’s Michelle McLintock chasing with Duffield sitting on her wheel.

McLintock caught Van Amerongen who had given her all to help her team mate.

Van Amerongen and Duffield sat on McLintock’s as she closed to within 100m of Nolan at the finish.

It was not enough as Nolan took the win,

Duffield finished second and Van Amerongen third. The women then backed up almost straight away to the sprint race, which was won by Duffield.

McLintock recovered enough to finish second, with Van Amerongen third.

Duffield took out the overall win, with Van Amerongen second and McLintock third.

Peel District Cycling Club’s next race, which is open to all riders, is at Casuarina on June 10.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails