Ukraine crisis: Russia hits out with sanctions against 121 Australians including Kerry Stokes and Anthony De Ceglie

Troy de Ruyter with agenciesAAP
Vladimir Putin, right, has sanctioned Anthony De Ceglie and Kerry Stokes.
Camera IconVladimir Putin, right, has sanctioned Anthony De Ceglie and Kerry Stokes. Credit: The West Australian

Moscow has blacklisted Seven West Media boss Kerry Stokes and The West Australian’s Editor In Chief Anthony De Ceglie in retaliation for criticising its war against Ukraine.

Russian President Vladimir Putin’s Government sanctioned 121 Australian citizens in all — including business people, army officials and journalists.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry on Thursday night said the move to bar entry to the Australians was in response to Australian Government sanctions against Russian individuals, put in place following the Russian invasion of Ukraine on February 24.

It accused those on the list of promoting a “Russophobic agenda” in Australia.

Other names on the list included WA mining magnates Andrew Forrest and Gina Rinehart, Rio Tinto Iron Ore chief executive Simon Trott, as well as ABC chair Ita Buttrose, News Corp co-chair Lachlan Murdoch, South Australian Premier Peter Malinauskas and Defence Force chief General Angus Campbell.

Media personalities Stan Grant, Andrew Bolt and Liz Hayes were included, as well as Atlassian co-founders Mike Cannon-Brookes and Scott Farquhar, Nine Entertainment Group chair Peter Costello and Meriton apartment developer Harry Triguboff.

Seven West Media boss Kerry Stokes.
Camera IconSeven West Media boss Kerry Stokes. Credit: Daniel Wilkins/The West Australian

Those mentioned on the list are barred from entering Russia indefinitely.

The Foreign Ministry said that it could expand the blacklist as the Australian Government “does not seem inclined to abandon its anti-Russia policy line and continues to produce new sanctions”.

Russia describes the incursion of its forces into Ukraine as a “special military operation” to disarm and “denazify” its neighbour.

Ukraine and its allies have rejected this as nonsense.

Australia in May sanctioned more than 70 Russian politicians and more than 30 local officials in the eastern Ukrainian separatist regions of Donetsk and Luhansk.

The West Australian’s Editor In Chief Anthony De Ceglie.
Camera IconThe West Australian’s Editor In Chief Anthony De Ceglie. Credit: Daniel Wilkins/The West Australian


  • Kerry Stokes (SWM)
  • Anthony De Ceglie (The West Australian)
  • Rebecca Armitage (ABC)
  • Gay Alcorn (The Age)
  • Monica Attard (University of Technology Sydney
  • Justin Bassi (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)
  • Simon Benson (The Australian)
  • John Blaxland (Australian National University)
  • Greg Bilton (ADF)
  • Olga Boichak (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Andrew Bolt (Sky News)
  • Michael Brissenden (ABC)
  • Annika Burgess (ABC)
  • Rick Burr (ADF)
  • Ita Buttrose (ABC)
  • Angus Campbell (ADF)
  • Eric Campbell (ABC)
  • Mike Cannon-Brookes (Atlassian)
  • Peter Costello (Nine)
  • Anthony Dalton (ADF)
  • Jason Dasey (ABC)
  • Mark Davies (Rio Tinto)
  • Malcolm Davis (Australian Institute for Strategic Policy)
  • Robert Denney (ADF)
  • Paul Dibb (Australian National University)
  • Christopher Dore (The Australian)
  • Tim Elliott (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Ben English (Daily Telegraph)
  • Scott Farquhar (Atlassian)
  • Andrew Forrest (Fortescue Metals Group)
  • Natasha Fox (ADF)
  • Anthony Fraser (ADF)
  • John Frewen (ADF)
  • Michael Fullilove (Lowy Iinstitute)
  • Anthony Galloway (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Kate Geraghty (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Darren Goldie (ADF)
  • Stan Grant (ABC)
  • Carrie-Anne Greenback (Nine)
  • Justine Greig (ADF)
  • Chris Griffith (The Australian)
  • Steven Groves (Department of Defence)
  • Mark Hammond (ADF)
  • Peter Hartcher (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Rob Harris (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Samantha Hawley (ABC)
  • Liz Hayes (Nine)
  • Amanda Hodge (The Australian)
  • Robert Horvath (La Trobe)
  • Peter Hoysted (The Australian)
  • Mel Hupfeld (ADF)
  • Sumeyya Ilanbey (The Age)
  • Peter Jennings (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)
  • Stephen Jobson (ADF)
  • David Johnston (ADF)
  • Gemma Jones (The Advertiser)
  • Anastasia Kapetas (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)
  • Patricia Karvelas (ABC)
  • Paul Kelly (The Australian)
  • Paul Kenny (ADF)
  • Peter Layton (Griffith University)
  • Jonathan Lea (Sky News)
  • Jacquelin Magnay (The Australian)
  • Jess Malcom (The Australian)
  • Peter Malinauskas (Premier of South Australia)
  • Jonathan Mead (ADF)
  • Stephen Meredith (ADF)
  • Michael Miller (News Corp Australia)
  • Tanya Monro (ADF)
  • Greg Moriarty (Department of Defence)
  • Lachlan Murdoch (News Corp)
  • Prudence Murdoch MacLeod (News Corp)
  • Robert Murray (Southern Cross Austereo)
  • Sean Nicholls (ABC)
  • Michael Noonan (ADF)
  • Ben Packham (The Australian)
  • Kellie Parker (Nine)
  • Aaron Patrick (Australian Financial Review)
  • Matthew Pearse (ADF)
  • Stephen Pearson (Department of Defence)
  • Celia Perkins (Department of Defence)
  • Robert Plath (Department of Defence)
  • Pete Quinn (ADF)
  • Kishor Napier-Raman (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Ellen Ransley (The Australian)
  • Katherine Richards (ADF)
  • Graham Richardson (The Australian)
  • Gina Rinehart (Hancock Prospecting)
  • Gavan Reynolds (Defence)
  • Geoffrey Roberston (Barrister)
  • Mick Ryan (military expert)
  • Daniel Sankey (The Australian)
  • Ben Saul (University of Sydney)
  • George Savvides (SBS)
  • Greg Sheridan (The Australian)
  • Bevan Shields (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Michael Shoebridge (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)
  • John Silvester (The Age)
  • Brian Paul Schmidt (Australian National University)
  • Christopher Smith (ADF)
  • Mike Sneesby (Nine)
  • Simon Stuart (ADF)
  • Michael Stutchbury (Australian Financial Review)
  • Matthew Sussex (Australian National University)
  • Will Swanton (The Australian)
  • Lucy Sweeney (ABC)
  • Peter Tesch (Defence)
  • David Thomae (ADF)
  • Harry Triguboff (Meriton)
  • Simon Trott (Rio Tinto)
  • Jarrod Villani (Paramount Australian and New Zealand)
  • Toby Walsh (academic)
  • Sam Weir (Herald Sun)
  • Geoff Winestock (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Scott Winter (ADF)
  • Tony Wright (The Age)
  • Richard Wood (Nine)
  • Matt Yannopoulos (Defence)
  • Сhris Zappone (Sydney Morning Herald)
  • Misha Zelinsky (Australian Financial Review)

Source: Russia’s Foreign Ministry

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails