Stunning win in series grand final

Sound Telegraph

James McFadden put the icing on his World Series Sprintcars championship cake when he won the 30-lap series grand final at Perth Motorplex last Saturday night.

McFadden started from P3 but got to the lead early and then led to the finish line, claiming victory over Australian champion Kerry Madsen and Cameron Gessner.

The driver of the Monte Motorsport W17 wrapped up the championship battle midway through the night’s racing and with the pressure off, he was able to race as hard as he wanted.

The results were spectacular and he was into lapped traffic within six laps.

The front runners were boxed in by lapped cars at certain parts of the contest but McFadden maintained his composure when it counted.

Twenty-two non-stop laps were put in the book before Taylor Milling spun on the approach to turn three.

On the restart, Madsen pounced to the lead but he left the door open for McFadden, who reclaimed the lead and went on to claim the win by 1.460 of a second.

Gessner got by Jason Kendrick, who was in third for much of the race and opened up an advantage.

Kendrick held on for fourth ahead of Jamie Veal, Lines, Brooke Tatnell, Ian Madsen, Brad Maiolo, Ben Ellement, Jason Pryde, Carl Dowling, James Inglis, Daniel Harding, Trent Pigdon, Lee Nash, Mitchell Wormall and Andrew Priolo.

Milling was the only non-finisher with David Priolo pulling out of the contest before the race started. Daryl Clayden, in his first race of the season, spun around on the fourth lap and was collected by teammate Scott Chatwin.

Kye Scroop tagged the back straight fence and as he came down the track, he was hit by Tim Van Ginneken and Jamie Maiolo with only the latter getting a restart.

Callum Williamson was out after a crash in the fifth heat race, seeing the No.73 too damaged to continue, but the consolation was his impressive win in the first heat race where he stormed around his rivals on the high line for the popular win.

Get the latest news from thewest.com.au in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails