Finalists named amid ‘fierce’ competition

Aiden BoyhamSound Telegraph
Dane Ugle has been nominated for the City of Rockingham’s 2017 Sports Star Awards .
Camera IconDane Ugle has been nominated for the City of Rockingham’s 2017 Sports Star Awards . Credit: Dave Tyson

Finalists for the City of Rockingham’s 2017 Sports Star Awards have been announced, with a number of athletes and clubs both young and old chasing glory.

The awards, which are now in their 21st year, will take place during a special ceremony on September 28.

Finalists for Club of the Year include Port Kennedy Junior Football Club, Rockingham City Football Club, Rockingham Districts Netball Association and Singleton Irwinians Cricket Club.

Team of the Year nominees include Hillman Hornets Cricket Club (U/14s), Rockingham Mandurah District Cricket Club (U/13s), Rockingham Tennis Club division 4 ladies team and the Singleton Irwinians Cricket Club (A-grade).

Dane Ugle (cricket), Irene Arndy (lawns bowls), Leon Larkins (outrigger canoe racing) and Steven Ware (triathlon/cycling) will vie for the Senior Sports Star Award while Aaron Naughton (AFL), Isabelle Classon (basketball), Jordan Callum (BMX), Megan Philpott (ballroom dancing) and Sophie White (athletics) will contest the Junior Sports Star category.

The Volunteer of the Year award category is dominated by cricket this year with Dan Oliver, Peta Hogarth, Peter McClay and Tony King all nominated alongside Matthew Brendon (tee-ball), Sue McClay (cricket/AFL) and Toni Bellingham (tennis).

Senior Sports Star nominee Larkins is also the sole finalist for the Sportsperson with a Disability award, while the winner of the John Brown Memorial Award will be announced on the night.

Mayor Barry Sammels congratulated this year’s finalists on being recognised for their achievements and contribution to sport.

“The nominations this year have been very thorough and a wonderful testament to the efforts of our local sports teams and individuals,” he said. “Being listed as a finalist should make all of the teams, volunteers and sports people feel proud, because the competition this year was fierce.”

Get the latest news from in your inbox.

Sign up for our emails